WHO KNEW THERE WAS STILL SOAP ON A ROPE?

THE tee for mee!

THE tee for mee!

So, sometimes things crop up in conversation or media and they seem to possess my brain. I just can’t stop thinking about them. It’s rather annoying for the most part but, it happens. Usually my “Ask Me About My AD/HD Highway to, hey a squirrel!” factor kicks in and I forget about it for a while. Then, it comes back. Here’s my most recent trip down Obsession Street.

I think it got kicked off by watching an episode of Eureka! There was some deprecating reference to using soap on a rope. That got me wondering, is soap on a rope [abbreviated, I have since learned, SOAR by those in the know.] still around? The answer is a resounding YES. And apparently, despite all the disparagements of this practical(?) product, it is doing quite well.

The Original Soap on a Rope from English Leather

The Original Soap on a Rope from English Leather

If you Google (does that need a capital G if you’re using it as a verb? Oh well, I’ll do it to make Word happy. Someone can correct me if they think it’s really necessary. …um … Did someone say something about a squirrel? … Oh yeah!) If you Google “soap on a rope” the first thing that comes up is an ad for buying SOAR from Amazon. And apparently, SOAR is a pretty lucrative item. Bars on string range from a low of $4.79 for British Sterling (and who knew THEY were still in business?) to $15.00 a bar for Aramis “Body Shampoo on a Rope”. I guess it’s worth three times more because it’s shampoo and that’s harder to get into bar form. But the real corker is the collection of Animal Soap on a Rope for $16.95. Granted, there are four soaps but still … yet, there are people out there paying for the privilege of washing with a pig or a frog. More power to them, I say.

All of this got me even more curious and it was then that I stumbled across the treasure mine. I had no Idea but there is actually a soap museum. Who knew? Now, soap has been around for simply ages. I mean, the earliest evidence to date is that the Babylonians used soap some 5000 years ago. And it had to be a good idea because it spread like wild fire throughout the ancient world. The Egyptians, the Greeks, the Romans, the Celts all made soap.

Soap in its simplest form. Not terribly unlike that used by the ancients.

Soap in its simplest form. Not terribly unlike that used by the ancients.

My admiration for them not withstanding, I’m pretty certain I wouldn’t want to use ancient Roman soap. It was made from animal and vegetable fats and urine. Sounds pretty harsh to me with all that ammonia in it. (What did you think I was concerned about? Shame on you!) Never the less, soap was pretty boring stuff until 1949. Until then it was pretty much all the same rectangular bars or oval bars. Then the English Leather Company. They molded that slippery bar around a bit of rope and a modern legend (or insult, depending on how you look at it) was born. It reached its zenith in the 1980s when it became ‘the gift of choice’ for Father’s Day. (I feel another whole rant about that vs. what mothers get on Mother’s Day. But I’ll save it for later.)

I want to know, does the volume fade on this thing as you continue to use it?

I want to know, does the volume fade on this thing as you continue to use it?

From then on it was all down hill. Or so I thought. SOAR is a thriving product on Amazon with a long and colorful history. I’ve done some research at the Soap Museum site and offer up the following images for your perusal. There are several that good taste demands I NOT include. But, if like me, you are truly interested in the lengths that soap manufacturers will go to push their product, visit the Soap Museum site. Be sure to explore the other category links on the right side of the page. Some of it is quite silly, while other offerings are unbelievable and definitely not suitable for those of delicate sensibilities. Seriously. I’m sure you’ll agree, it’s amazing what’s been done in the name of good, clean fun, right?

We hope you enjoy perusing these creative SOAR images. We’ve shared seven of our favorites with you. If you want to see more, you’re on your own. Just use the link above.

So you're too good for Soap on a Rope? Well it's good enough for the Caped Crusader!

So you’re too good for Soap on a Rope? Well it’s good enough for the Caped Crusader!

I wonder if it smells like Bud as well? And does it have a warning label enjoining you to not drive or operate heavy machinery after washing? Move over Irish Spring, this truly is a MANLY scent if it does.

I wonder if it smells like Bud as well? And does it have a warning label enjoining you to not drive or operate heavy machinery after washing? And, what ever you do, don’t get pulled over. The cop is NEVER going to believe that it’s you soap that smells like that.

Anyone want to send this one to The Hill so they can clean up their act?

Anyone want to send this one to The Hill so they can clean up their act?

Yeah! I'm getting in the shower with this one!

Yeah! I’m getting in the shower with this one!

Huh! Cleanliness really is next to Godliness. Pope Soap on a Rope.

Huh! Cleanliness really is next to Godliness. Pope Soap on a Rope.

Charles Foster Kane lives! This is THE gift for your favorite CEO this year!

Charles Foster Kane lives! This is THE gift for your favorite CEO this year!

Leave a Reply

